Blog Hop Interview on Dirty Laundry

Hello, Friends

I’ve been asked by a fellow author to participate in a Blog Hop in order to introduce new authors to my readers. We are blog hopping our way through some great new reads. What an easy way to be introduced to some wonderful authors you might have not known about. Be sure to follow our blog hop and be introduced to some exciting reads as well as works in progress. Below you will be able to learn a little about me and the authors who follow me in week 18. Be sure to check them all out. They are fabulous authors that I am delighted to brag about!!

Special thanks to Eri Nelson athttp://www.dearharts.com/for asking me to participate.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Great Read:

Q:What is the working title of your book?

A: Dirty Laundry

Q:Where did the idea come from for the book?

A: Life in a blended family; the not so proper relationships that can and do happen within a family made up of virtual strangers.

Q:What genre does your book fall under?

A: Dirty Laundry can cross 3 genres:  Chick Lit, Women’s Fiction and Memoir.

Q: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

A:   John Stamos and Zooey Deschanel.  He’s hot and she’s adorable!

Q:What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A:  Dirty Laundry is the tale of young Marly and her much older stepbrother, Johnny, as they navigate the waters of forbidden love in a blended family to the love of a lifetime.

Q: Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

A:  Supported Self Publishing with Abbott Press in Bloomington, Indiana.  SSP is a great way for a newbie to learn the publishing side of being a writer.  They have been very good to me, and I’m very happy with our arrangement.

Q:How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A: Hmmmm, hard to say.  I got serious about it in February 2011, but was interrupted by life a few times.  It was finished in September 2012. There were not 3 or 4 drafts like many writers.  I edited over and over as I wrote, constantly changing things.  It is now in the final stages of cover design and formatting at AP.  Should be out in December, 2012 if not a bit before.  I am sooooo excited!

Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

A:  I really can’t say.  Dirty Laundry is funny, sexy, bold, sad and gut-wrenching honest. 

Q: Who or What inspired you to write this book?

A:  It seems like all my life people have said to me, “You should write a book.  It would be a bestseller.  What a life!”  So, I did. 

Q: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

A:  The idea that all children are not created equal.  A very precocious child is not the norm.  For parents out there who deal with this, Dirty Laundry can give some insight and direction I hope.  I know that I would never have allowed my own children to take the same path.  I always said I would never marry a man with children – I have held to that vow.  Young Marly is quite the character!  I hope my readers fall in love with her and grow to understand her.

Below is the list of my tagged blog hop authors for next week. Check out their blogs next Wednesday,October 24th,to read about their Works in Progress and New Releases.

1. http://ebarnes23.wordpress.com

2. http://kathleensmith.org

3. http://www.richardjnewman.com

4. http://highstrikerbook.com

I hope you enjoyed my Q&A!  Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

