It Isn’t Fair But It’s A Fact of Life.

RebloggedReblogged from THE BEST CHAPTER by Diana Bletter. Thanks, Diana, for your wise words.

DIANA BLETTER

Here’s my article from today’s Philadelphia Inquirer:

Prepare for a new wave of security

By Diana Bletter
POSTED: Wednesday, April 17, 2013, 3:01 AM
The first time I walked into a supermarket in northern Israel, I was surprised when a guard stopped me to check my handbag. How could I have shoplifted? I hadn’t even stepped into the store. Then I realized he was checking for a bomb, far more concerned with what I might sneak into the store than what I might sneak out of it.

The security measures I’ve grown accustomed to in Israel, where I’ve lived for the past 20 years, await many Americans since the deadly attack at the Boston Marathon on Monday. A new kind of future will begin, one that Israelis are already familiar with. It isn’t pretty, but it’s precautionary; it isn’t fair, but it’s a fact of life.

Terrorists deliberately attack…

View original post 500 more words

One thought on “It Isn’t Fair But It’s A Fact of Life.

Leave a Reply

