ORPHANS ACROSS THE WORLD -SEX TRADE

I reblogged the below content from Karen Ehman’s site today.  This is too important to ignore.  If you can’t help, please forward the article to someone who may be able to help these orphans.  It broke my heart to read about young girls being sold into sex slavery.  Thousands of them all over the world.  I have followed Karen’s blog for a while and trust her content.  Thanks for reading and sharing this.

Jul
3

I Didn’t Sign Up for This

Wanna stay connected? Follow me on Twitter, Pinterest or Facebook or sign up to receive any new posts automatically by clicking on the icons in the sidebar.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you read my Proverbs 31 Ministries devotion for today entitled “I Didn’t Sign Up for This?” If not, click here to see what we’re discussing today. {be sure to come back for the guest interview and giveaway of 20 of his books!}

This week Americans celebrate freedom. But
for many around the world {and even in the USA} there is no freedom. The
sex trafficking industry is real and horrendous. My friend Tom is on
the front lines fighting against this evil practice. Today I’ve invited
him to share with you the realities of this atrocity.






I met Tom Davis three years ago when he came to talk to our team at Proverbs 31.
My heart was instantly drawn to the work he and his ministry perform
helping orphans and those caught in the sex-traficking industry around
the world. I’ve asked him to share a little with my readers today about
his ministry Children’s Hope Chest. And, he is also giving away 20 copies of a novel he wrote about this issue entitled Priceless.

~ Tom, tell us how you came about having a passion to help orphans and those stuck in slavery?

On my first trip to Russia in 1997, my wife and I fell in love with a
little girl named Anya. She was a beautiful 10 year old filled with
wonder about her future and who would love her for the rest of her life.
This was a pressing question for her because she had been an orphan
since she was 3. We learned that orphans ‘graduated’ the orphan system
at the age of fifteen or sixteen. It wasn’t really a graduation, it was
an abandonment. They were forced to leave and make it on their own. The
results were horrendous. 15% committed suicide within 2 years, 70% of
the girls ended up in forced prostitution and 80% of the boys lived on
the streets or were put in jail.

Without our help, Anya would be facing life as a sex-trafficking
victim. The odds were not in her favor. My wife and I just couldn’t let
that happen. In our hearts she became our daughter at that moment,
although it took us a year to complete the process. As I became aware of
the countless numbers of other ‘Anyas’ in the world, I couldn’t turn a
blind eye. I had to continue to do something to see that other innocent
girls like Anya didn’t end up in a situation where they became a
trafficking statistic.  I’ve given my life to this for the last 16
years.

~ Today you are the CEO of Children’s Hope Chest. Tell us about that ministry’s heartbeat and mission.






Children’s HopeChest
connects Christian communities in the U.S. and Canada with impoverished
communities of orphans overseas. This unique “community-to-community”
sponsorship leverages the power of one community of Christians making a
long-term, transformational impact on a community of orphans and
vulnerable children.

Ultimately, these relationships and resources empower orphans to
survive, thrive, and succeed within their home culture. HopeChest
partners primarily with churches, businesses and Christian communities
such as blogs, online groups, book clubs, and small groups. These
sponsoring communities are providing help, training, and discipleship
for over 10,000 orphans. HopeChest has over 100 active partnerships in
Russia, Swaziland, South Africa, Ethiopia, Uganda, Haiti, Guatemala,
Moldova, and India.

Simply put, we want to help every orphan we find have the hope of a future and the blessing of loving people surrounding them.

~ How can my readers go about also helping orphans and slaves from right where they are now?

Let’s make it really easy. Email me: tdavis@hopechest.org.
I will get back with you immediately. There are so many things people
can do to help. Once I know your heart regarding this issue, I can
clearly direct you. You can also go to our website to find out more
information at www.hopechest.org. ;

~You are generously giving away 20 copies here of your novel Priceless. Tell us what that book is about.






Priceless
is the story about a young girl named Marina who leaves a Russian
orphan and becomes a victim of human trafficking. Tragically, her story
is the story for thousands and thousands of girls in our world. They
become trapped in predicaments like this because they have absolutely no
one to look after them. Nobody loves them; they are forgotten.

Because they have no place to live and are unable to find employment,
they become targets for sexual predators. It’s easy to see how they get
caught up in this industry. I’ve done a lot of studying in this area,
and once girls are in, it’s almost impossible for them to get free
without some kind of help.

They find themselves in foreign
countries where they don’t speak the language, their passports are taken
from them, they have no money, no way to make phone calls, and they
don’t personally know anyone in their surroundings. Most are scared to
death because they are told if they run away they’ll be found and
killed, or if they have living relatives, their relatives will be
killed.

The hero of the story is an award-winning photojournalist named
Stuart. He could be you or me. I wanted people to see the life of a
trafficked young girl through his eyes, feel his emotions, and have
their heart enter into the storyline.

Priceless is a novel, but it is based on true stories.

Here’s a sad fact: When it comes to orphans, the truth of this
Scripture is overwhelming. “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your
adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone
to devour” (1 Peter 5:8).

The enemy rapes, pillages, destroys, and devours the life of every
single orphan he can get his hands on. He takes advantage of the little
orphan girl because she is helpless to protect herself. There is no
natural parental covering, no spiritual covering, rarely even a communal
covering. They are caught all alone, in a blizzard of abuse, and they
are exposed to all of the elements. So our enemy devours them.

To devour means to destroy something rapidly and completely. I’ve
seen this too many times in places like Russia. Currently, there are
over 2 million children enslaved to forced prostitution—and this number
has drastically increased in the last year. Hundreds of thousands of
children are caught up in armed conflict as combatants, messengers,
porters, cooks, and sex slaves for armed groups. In many cases they have
been forcibly abducted.

I firmly believe that the orphan is precious to God. He created them
in His image, He loves them, and His heart is broken for them. His
answer to this tragedy is you and me. We have to utilize our influence,
our relationships, and our talents to fight this enemy. As long as we
sit on our hands, the enemy will continue to unleash hell and savagely
kill the innocent. Dare we continue to just watch it happen?

Trafficking Data:

  • 1.2 million children are trafficked every year; this is in addition to the millions already held captive by trafficking
  • Every 2 minutes a child is being prepared for sexual exploitation
  • The average victim is forced to have sex up to 40 times a day
  • The average age of a trafficked victim is 14 years old
  • Sex trafficking is an engine of the global AIDS epidemic
  • By 2013 Sex Trafficking will be the number one crime worldwide
Tom, THANK YOU so much for sharing with us today, inviting us to partner with Children’s Hope Chest and giving away your novel!

Now, to be entered to win one of the 20 copies of Priceless, simply
leave a comment on this post or a short prayer of encouragement to Tom
and his team. Winners announced Monday.

Happy Fourth of July to my American readers. Can I ask you a favor?
When you see a sign of freedom—a fireworks display or waving flag—will
you use it as a prayer prompt to remind you to whisper a plea to God on
behalf of the children, women and yes–even men—caught in the trap of
slavery?

Tom and I both thank you.

Facebook Twitter Digg Stumbleupon Email

Comments

  1. Michelle says:

    My heart is sickened. As a mother of two daughters, having
    traveled the world, I can relate all too well. I have watched girls
    sell themselves in order to have food, clothes, and other luxuries and
    necessities their families cannot provide. But more deeply, I am Joseph.
    My husband abandoned my children and I after several years of a
    destructive relationship. In such very small ways, I have tasted the
    pain of a soul that dies at the hands of another. I want to help, but
    already I feel stretched so terribly thin. Thank you for sharing and for
    giving we readers a place to consider our role in helping our sisters’
    plight around the world alas well as in our own backyard.

    • Barb says:

      Every time I I hear this story, I am sickened and shocked. I
      scream WHY?!! We live in a fallen world, but I look at my precious
      daughter and understand that that is how God looks at us, precious. It
      seems overwhelming and there is too much. But it can change, starting
      with each of u, being obedient as God calls us. . Thank you Tom for
      stepping out and giving others the courage to do so as well.

    • Janet says:

      My heart grieves for the evil and manipulation to children who
      should be able to trust the adults in their lives. I rejoice that there
      are godly men like Tom who followed God’s call on his life.

  2. April says:

    I am so glad to learn about Children’s Hope Chest and the
    wonderful work they are doing. We started a charity a few years ago
    based on James 1:27 and we do help an orphanage in Mexico and a family
    in our area. But we want to do more, so I look forward to checking out
    the Children’s Hope Chest site for ways we can do more. Thank you so
    much for sharing. I am praying for all that Tom is doing and Karen
    thank you for your always inspiring and encouraging words!

  3. Dana says:

    Thank you for bringing this topic to light! As a volunteer
    working to prevent sexual exploitation I know how often people do not
    want to hear/believe this is happening. We need as many people as
    possible speaking out.

  4. chris says:

    As a mother of two teenage daughters it breaks my heart to hear
    about these young women being sold for sexual fullfillment. I could not
    imagine the life to be had by these young girls.
    Father God, protect these young womem. Fill their hearts with compassion
    and understanding. Allow them to know there is a plan you have for
    them. Help them to not allow the eny to still their hope. Sometimes it
    probably feels as if things will never change, and they are yempted to
    give up on the inside. Right now God, we place every feeling of
    hopelessness at your feet. Fill these young girls to the top of their
    hearts with unwavering hope. Flood their hearts with hopa and revelation
    that they are NOT alone and that you Fathet are their HOPEand STRENGTH.
    IN YOUR NAME FATHER AMEN.

  5. Andrea says:

    Thank you do much for sharing information about a growing epidemic
    problem in this world. Dear Lord, please protect these children from
    this evil. Satan has no conscious and devours these poor children. We
    can pray for them and the people helping them. God is Faith Freedom and
    Family

  6. Holly Barrigar says:

    We are so blessed in this country, even in our neediest times we
    have more than these children who are desperate for us to rise up and
    stand in the gap for them. Thank you for putting these issues in front
    of us and may God open our hearts to his calling for our life, to invest
    ourselves in his kingdom and his children.

  7. Kristi Dean says:

    God laid this horrible problem on my heart just yesterday. I want
    to do something, anything to help. Thank you for this article! God
    bless you. Emailing Tom now to see how I can help.

  8. Rose DeMayo says:

    LORD WE WANT TO LIFT UP TOM AND THE TEAM OF PEOPLE HE HAS WITH
    HIM, LORD GIVE THEM THE STRENGTH AND WISDOM TO HELP ALL WHO YOU HAVE PUT
    IN THEIR PATH. LORD WE ALL HAVE COME BEFORE YOU PRAISING YOU AND
    THANKING YOU FOR THE PROGRESS THAT HAS BEEN MADE AND PRAY THAT YOU
    SUPPLY ALL THE NEEDS OF TOM AND THE PEOPLE THAT WORK WITH HIM SO THAT
    THEY MAY CONTINUE THE POWERFUL WORK THAT YOU HAVE DESTINE THEM TO DO.
    IN JESUS NAME WE PRAY
    AMEN

  9. Barbie Wojichowski says:

    Awareness of this horror shocks us until the latest movie
    depicting the detestable practice wraps up and then we all go back to
    our lives as if we had never seen it. Thank you for the reminder that
    our sisters and daughters are still in deep trouble and need
    deliverance. Praying for your ministry and for God to show me what part I
    can play.

  10. Kathy Syrnyk says:

    Dear Lord,
    Thank you for people like Tom who are brave warriors in these tumultuous
    times. I pray for Tom and his team, as they do further work in the
    area of trafficking, to bring this heinous crime to a stop. I pray for
    protection and hope for all the children involved, as teams work
    together to help them. Thank you for opening doorways to people to
    become more informed about these acts, and find ways to offer of
    themselves to make a difference in the life of these victims.
    Amen.

  11. Christine says:

    Dear Lord,
    We oome before you today and praise You for Your love and faithfulness.
    We ask you to go before this ministry and bless the paths they are led
    down so that hearts will be opened to the message of Your Son, Jesus
    Christ – the only Way to true freedom. We pray for the hearts of the
    victims, their famlies, and their captors. Hearts that will be sold out
    for You, Lord!
    In Jesus’ name – Amen.

  12. Sheila says:

    Praise God for the work of those serving with and through
    Children’s Hope Chest! Praying that each of these precious ones affected
    by this horrendous act will find peace and freedom.

  13. Mary Beth Morris says:

    This subject is a topic my daughter and I talk about frequently
    and I am so grateful that you have addressed it in your blog today. We
    often hear of tragic circumstances around the world but have no link to
    organizations (or are unsure of the credibility of organizations ) to
    contact about how to help. I plan to email Tom and visit the website for
    more info. My daughter has been praying for a window of opportunity in
    this ministry. Thank you for providing. Dear Lord, bless this ministry
    and all it is doing to help the hurting around the world. Amen.

  14. Kim says:

    Thank you for sharing on this topic. The statistics are just heart breaking.

  15. Mary Weiss says:

    Father,I come before you and give thanks for Tom And all the
    workers at Children’s Hope Chest. Thank You for putting in them the
    desire to help these orphans,and for their willingness to do Your Will.
    Protect them and guard their hearts as they witness things that are so horrific.
    May all those that are helped through Children’s Hope Chest through You
    ,Father, be able to put their horrible ordeals behind them, and come to
    saving knowledge of Your love for them.
    I pray this in the name of Jesus

  16. Jodie says:

    The fact that God knows everything and that all things work together for good, makes this abusive reality almost unfathomable.
    As Tom has chosen to bring these atrocities to light via Karen’s blog we
    Christians need to prayerfully ask God–”How can we help.”
    HE will answer–if we will take time to listen. Thank you Tom & Karen.

  17. Brenda says:

    Wow, I had no idea this crime has been growing in such epidemic
    proportions. I pray that we can band together to help, to make a
    difference. My heart goes out to those who are already trapped with
    seemingly no hope of things changing for the better.

  18. Amy says:

    This is just heartbreaking. Prayers for the women and children this is happening to, as well as the people helping to stop it.

  19. Jill E says:

    I’ve had my eyes opened in the last year about this horrible crime
    – overseas and right here in the United States. I’m glad to learn about
    Tom and his organization and will definitely pray for him and all of
    the victims every time I see a flag.

  20. Rene James says:

    It’s hard to believe pepele out there in this world dolng such
    horible things. Thank God for people like Tom obaying God and helping
    these children.

  21. LRF says:

    I have read Priceless and highly recommend it. If I were to win a
    copy I would share with others in my life and ultimately I would hope to
    give the book to my church library so others can learn. Thank you for
    the devotion- I need to learn to not have self pitying
    attitude even when things are very rough.Blessings-
    PS: Tom Davis has another novel set in Africa called “Scared” This is
    another must read for those whose heart ,like mine, cries over the
    children of the world.

  22. Angela Lee says:

    I am sickened and saddened to read about the horrors these
    children are going through. It really puts things in perspective when
    you hear about the things some people have to deal with, by no choice of
    their own, day by day. From this moment on, I will be including Tom and
    these children in my prayers daily… lifting them up to God. Thank you
    for bringing this to our attention.

  23. Renee says:

    I just returned from a mission trip where this is being addressed,
    as they’ve opened a safe house for sexual trafficking victims. What a
    blessing, right here in the US. Abba Father, thank You for those who are
    working against this evil in Your eyes. You asked us to love You and
    love others. Please give this group working with these victims strength
    and hope when they feel they have none. Please guide and direct them to
    resources, as well as Your will for all involved. Use these vessels to
    be a light in this dark world and give them the power of Your Holy
    Spirit to accomplish what they can’t without You. YOU ARE AMAZING!

  24. Anita says:

    Trafficking has been so very heavy on my heart and the hearts of the the young women I lead in student ministries
    As a survivor of sexual abuse and assault I am all to familiar with the
    physical and emotional scars one carries save an encounter
    with Jesus. I pray often for those who share my faith and not my freedom
    and will now pray for these precious ones salvation, protection,
    healing and their ultimate freedom. Thank you for seeking justice for
    them and I look forward to learning how we too can bless and love on
    these precious ones. I would love any information you have on ways we
    can partner with you.

    Many Blessings,
    Anita

  25. Terri Hogue says:

    Tom, as this unbelievable act of evil that occurs the world breaks
    our hearts, we know it first breaks the heart of our Father in heaven.
    If the world looks at this huge problem and feels compelled to act, we
    more so as being united in Christ should also be compelled to act.
    THANK YOU for bringing this to the Christian community with Light and
    Hope.

    May God continue to bless your mind and heart to reach others for Him.

  26. Vicki says:

    Wow, thank you for the reminder that there is far worse problems
    and pain in this world then the little problems I am facing in my life
    right now. I should focus my prayers on that and not always myself.
    Thank you for all you are doing. I want to find out more about
    Children’s HopeChest.

  27. Sarah says:

    After hearing the experiences of a friend who worked with a
    ministry in India that rrescued women/children in forced prostitiution
    this issue has been heavy on my heart. Thank you Tom that you have
    created an organization that will help these helpless ones and has also
    brought awareness to this horrific issue. I will be praying for these
    children and your organization.

  28. Elizabeth says:

    I pray that someday God opens the door for my husband and I to
    help orphans, foster care kids, or children in need of a home in the
    United States or around the world. Prior to getting married, I took
    foster care classes and this was a passion of mine. I do not see that
    the finances and other factors will fall together at this point to make
    it a reality… we have to care for our own family first. However, thank
    you so much for reminding me that God DOES open those doors in His time
    and His way, and that He is working in this world. All the best to you.

  29. Edna says:

    Dear Heavenly Father,
    Thank you for loving these precious ones even though they might be
    unaware of it yet. Bless Tom, and others like him who seek to rescue
    them from slavery and may Your purpose prevail. In the strong name of
    Jesus, Amen.

  30. ghalim says:

    Thank you for sharing this … I’ve heard so many times about
    children and women as victims of human trafficking. I pray that God will
    continue to bless your ministry. Pray for many families to raise up and
    walk along side of CHC. A friend of ours just welcomed their’s 14 yrs
    old girl from Russia whom they are going to foster for a few months. And
    incredible journeys for both side since none of them speak the other’s
    language but hoping that God’s love would conquer language barriers.
    Thank you again for stepping up and may God continue to strengthen and
    encourage you.

  31. Sandy says:

    So thankful for you and your team for all you do! Human
    trafficking and slavery is not how God would have us to live, but with
    people like you in this world, there is hope to show God’s way to the
    world!!!!

  32. Erin Hill says:

    As a mom of a 7 year old daughter, this weighs heavy on my heart.
    My immediate thought is to find them all and protect them like a mama
    bear, but I know it can’t be done alone. But, I can pray for their
    protection and for this amazing ministry.

  33. Barbara Cole says:

    Heavenly Father, I come to You to intercede on behalf of the
    precious children and young people around the world who are caught in
    this trap of human trafficking because they have no earthly advocate to
    love them, protect them and lead them to true freedom through Jesus
    Christ. Thank You for people like Tom Davis and organizations like
    Children’s Hope Chest who open our eyes to this oppression. Move Your
    people to join these efforts to rescue these precious little ones. In
    the powerful name of Jesus, I pray for victory over the evil one. Amen.

  34. Kari says:

    Heartbreaking. Thank you so much for sharing this. While I was
    aware of human trafficking I didn’t realize the extent to which it
    affected orphans all over the world. I would love to read your book.
    Thank you!

  35. Sandy says:

    Thank you for sharing this story. I was aware of these kinds of
    things, but your story really hit my heart in a new way. You made it
    personal and real. Thank you for opening our eyes so we can pray, and
    listen to what else we might need to be doing.

  36. Karen says:

    As a mother and grandmother I can’t imagine the horror of knowing
    one of my own was being mistreated in such a way. Now knowing the horror
    that these orphans face, knowing they have no one to help them escape
    this fate, I cannot do nothing. God reveals what is going on with his
    children to those of us that can and must help – we must act or be
    disobedient to His calling. Thank you for being a light in a very dark
    world.

  37. Dawn says:

    Tom thank you so much for bringing this horrendous problem out of
    the darkness and into the light, and also you Karen for sharing this
    growing epidemic on your blog and in your devotional. My heart goes out
    to all who are trapped in this sickness called slavery. Papa I pray
    for hands over Tom’s ministry and for allowing him to be your hands and
    feet. Continue to shine your light in the dark places so freedom can
    finally be found. Give him and thosre who work with him strength over
    these opressors, to give eyes to the blind, and hope to the hopeless.
    Help these many suffering to truly be freed in their heart Papa, even if
    they cannot be yet freed in their circumstances. And Papa please help
    us whose hearts have been touched to also be your hands and feet to help
    this ministry in any way we can. Thank you Papa . In Jesus’ mighty
    name.

  38. We are adopting a girl from Moldva where the sex trade is prevalent so this issue is so dear to our hearts.

  39. Dana says:

    my heart is broken for these victims. Thank you for all you are
    doing. my prayers will be covering your missing from this day forward!

  40. Ann Ingham says:

    Wow, when I read the Proverbs 31 message today – my heart leaped
    and I had to smile – certainly not about the topic. This past Christmas
    my mom gifted my sister and I with a document about child slavery that
    she had printed from the internet, “27 Ways to do More” from
    268Generation.com Her charge to us was to come back to the table in
    one year’s time with two things we have done to address this topic.
    Well, here it is six months later and I have now been gently “nudged” by
    God to take the first steps…which was to visit the site “Children’s
    Hope Chest” and looking into reading “Priceless”!! I have shared the
    link to the site with my family and can hardly wait to take my second
    action step. Thank you for delivering such a powerful message for all of
    us who enjoy true freedom living in a country where it is both a right
    and a privilege.

  41. Malie says:

    I have read a few of Tom Davis’ books, including “Red Letters”.
    Excellent reads and very informative. I encourage all to read and seek
    how you may participate to help in fighting this evil.

  42. Maureen says:

    Tom, thanks for bringing into a clearer view this topic on sex
    trafficking. My family will be moving to Kenya as missionaries soon and I
    have always had a heart for orphans. I want to learn more on this topic
    to reach out to victims of trafficking where God puts me. Would love to
    read your book. I will check out your website.

  43. Ellen says:

    I pray for Tom and his team. That God will guide, direct,
    provide, and protect them as they help protect and save the innocent.
    My heart goes out to all of the children who have no protection.

  44. Cecille says:

    Karen, thank you for sharing this. Thanks to Tom, his wife and
    their ministry. For weeks in January, God kept bringing to my mind the
    word “movement”. I did not know what He meant by it but prayerfully
    asked Him to show me what He wanted me to do. Two months ago, our
    pastor showed us a video produced by rightnow.org on being a Trader.
    This means trading the time you spend doing things for things that
    further God’s Kingdom. I then knew that this was what that word
    “movement” was meant for me. Again, I prayed that God would show me
    how. One day i stumbled upon the organization Courage Worldwide. They
    build homes and house victims of sex trafficking and provide them with a
    safe home, counseling, training, and everything they need to help
    restore their lives. Sex trafficking is also a big and growing problem
    even in our community. My “trade” is to commit to help raise an
    awareness of this and to help the victims. As the Missions Chairperson
    at our church, I will also expose our congregation to Children’s
    HopeChest as another avenue in helping stop this growing epidemic that
    is destroying precious lives. We all need to work together to help
    prevent this and restore the lives that have already been destroyed by
    it. Thank You again, Tom and your ministry. May God protect, provide
    and bless you, your family, and your ministry. Thank you, Karen.

  45. Debi K says:

    Thank you for bringing this subject to the attention of the
    masses!!! My pastor did a book review/study for our UMW group on this
    subject. The book was Forgotten Girls. There were many chapters that I
    found myself reading through the tears. It is so easy for those of us
    born in the US to not know or understand that hardships women and girls
    face in developing countries that make them easy targets for sex
    trafficking. I would appreciate an opportunity to read Mr. Davis’ book.

  46. Sarah B. says:

    Lord, please be with these dear people as they help these helpless ones.
    Be their strength and hope. Help us to open our hearts to help in any way we can!

  47. Joyce C says:

    Lord, thank you for Tom and his ministry to help stop this
    horrible atrocity! I pray you will continually provide what is needed to
    help these children have a hope and a future. I pray for your
    protection on the children that are enslaved and that you would provide
    freedom in You and freedom from this. In Jesus Name I pray, Amen

  48. Lori A. says:

    Tom I am so thankful for what you are doing. I pray that you will feel God’s presence in all that you do.

  49. Beth says:

    Thank you for educating others on this topic. I attended a
    conference last year, one of the speakers talked about sex-traficking.
    So devastating. But all those involved are beloved children of God.
    Saying many prayers for all people involved in this terrible situation,
    and all those trying to help.

  50. Flora says:

    So thankful for you letting people know about this ! BUT don’t
    think people realize that the USA has sex trafficing as much if not more
    than other countries. You hear of little children missing or even
    teenagers- 90% are being place in trafficing. I live close to Cleveland
    where the three girls were slaves for 10 years!!! We need to pray that
    all children are given the chance to live free and know God’s boundless
    love not Satans bonds! I pray for these children all the time. Please
    give to Tom and his efforts.Also check you state and what they are doing
    about trafficing here- this must STOP! You might just need to step
    forward and do something. It’s easy to write a check- not easy to give
    time and help. I always remember in Esther when she is told that this
    might be why she is there for this reason!!!

  51. Angie B says:

    Wow…I am speechless.

  52. AlisonM says:

    Thank you Tom for all your organization does. It is so hard to
    fathom that this continues to happen throughout the world and here in
    the US. It makes my heart ache. Prayers going out for your continued
    success in helping these victims.

  53. Lindsey Simmons says:

    I would love to read Tom’s book. About a year ago, God started
    making me aware of the huge crisis of human trafficking and modern day
    slavery. I have a friend who works in Los Angeles rescueing prostitutes
    from the street. I so admire her work. I asked God what He wanted me to
    do, I felt that He said, “For now, just be aware. Be informed.” So I
    have gotten informed and tried to raise awareness of the problem among
    those close to me, and I am awaiting further instruction from Him. I am
    thankful that more and more people are making this issue known.

  54. Shannon says:

    Saddened and moved to pray for Tom and his organization for
    strength, wisdom, discernment and all that they would need to fight sex
    trafficking. Thank you for sharing this!

  55. Renee says:

    I will never understand how someone can do this to a sweet innocent child.

  56. Janice says:

    Thank You for this article. I am saddened and sickened when I hear about this. I want to help stop this too.

  57. Lora C says:

    My heart broke when I read that Anya wondered who would love her
    for the rest of her life. I pray that this wonderful ministry witll
    continue to be blessed with everything necessary to continue their
    work!!

  58. Polly Schneider says:

    Oh Dear Lord, My heart cries out for these poor girls. Please put
    Your hedge of protection around them. Give them hope and a way out.
    Show me how I can help, what is the part You want me to have to help
    those in this situation. I ask this in Your name Jesus. Amen.

  59. Heather says:

    My heart breaks for those caught in sex trafficking. Yet, I have a
    hard time thinking about it because it makes me so upset, sick to my
    stomach, and I feel powerless to help. So my internal response is to
    not think about it, which I know doesn’t help.

  60. Suellen says:

    As a mother of four daughters and two sons, I am grieved to hear
    about the statistics of sex trafficking and that it will be the #1 crime
    as of this year. I breaks my heart and I keep hearing this topic come
    up over and over again. My youngest child is 14, the average age of a
    child pulled into this horrific crime. The more I am hearing about it,
    the more tugging on my heart I feel and the more I am feeling the Lord
    is wanting me to get involved somehow to help. My prayers are with you,
    your organization and those that are reaching out to help these victims.
    May you find your strength and protection in our Lord as He guides you
    in this ministry.

  61. Denise Akkerman says:

    My heart is aching. We will pray for your ministry. Thanks for
    making people more aware of this tragic crime going on in our world
    today.

  62. Carissa D. Huffman says:

    Please bless this beautiful work of grace and love that our
    brothers and sisters are doing to help those who cannot help themselves.
    Thank you for people who can provide resources to save these children
    from such ugly, cruel sinfulness. Lord, I ask You to create that longing
    in all of us for these lost lonely souls who need to feel safe,
    unconditionally loved, and to know Your great love for them. I pray in
    Jesus name. Amen.

    Blessings to Tom and his fellow workers.
    Carissa in eastern Iowa

  63. Susan says:

    My heart aches. I have been exposed to many messages about human
    trafficing in recent months. I feel a pull toward this ministry. I
    will pray for these children, the Children’s Hope Chest ministry, and
    ask God how he wants me to be involved. I will be in touch!
    Karen, Thank you for your P31 devotion, and for brining Children’s Hope Chest to our attention.
    Tom, Thank you for your heart and your work for orphans around the world. You are the hands and feet of Jesus!

  64. Courtney says:

    My heart is broken and I can’t stop the streaming tears. I knew
    this was going on, however the statistics provided in this blog entry is
    heart wrenching and sick. It’s amazing how we can complain about the
    little things in life, like it being too hot outside, when we can come
    in our cool houses for shelter. And these poor young women do not have
    that luxury. It breaks my heart and makes me reexamine myself and shows
    me on my worst day, I still do not have it as bad as these young women.

    Dear Heavenly Father, I come to you right now as humbly as I know how
    and with a very heavy heart. Forgive me for being fickle when my life
    could be like my sisters overseas. God, I’m asking you to protect them,
    reveal yourself to them and let them know there is hope. Let us rally
    around these young women to show them love, support, and a way out. I’m
    Matthew 18:20, you said “For where two or three gather in my name, there
    am I also with them.” Let us gather and save these young women.
    Father, I thank you for Tom Davis who had the compassion and vision to
    start this organization. He didn’t just feel sorry and did nothing, but
    took a stand. God, I pray, we can be more like Tom and do all we can to
    fight this injustice.
    In Jesus holy and precious name, Amen.

  65. Christine says:

    Karen & Tom,
    Thank you for bringing this heartbreaking but very real issue to light.
    It is so easy to turn a blind eye to these horrific truths, but that’s
    not what we’re instructed to do in God’s Word! Thank you for providing
    opportunities to be able to share in this fight.
    May God Continue to bless you both as this fight rages on!
    Dear Lord,
    I pray that you continue to watch over Karen and Tom in the works to
    which you’ve called them. I thank you for their outreach efforts and
    pray that you will continue to open doors to their ministries, and that
    they will have plenty of partners in these endeavors. Watch over these
    children.
    In the precious and holy name of Jesus, Amen!

  66. Meggie says:

    Thank you for this information! I’ve been involved in organizing
    the Winnipeg Real to Reel Film Festival for the past 3 years. This past
    February we screened “Trade of Innocents” and had a Member of
    Parliament, Joy Smith, as talkback leader before and after the
    screening. It was an eye-opener to many! It breaks my heart to hear and
    see what’s happening around the world, but also in our own communities.
    It takes people like Tom and you and me to answer the prayers of these
    victims. Praying for Tom & the ministry!

  67. Denise Halderman says:

    I am totally humbled after reading Tom’s story. May GOD bless you
    and allow you and your organization continued success in helping all of
    these young girls

  68. Karen Walters says:

    All I can say is that I had no idea the brevity of this situation.
    The facts make us uncomfortable, therefor the information is not
    spoken about enough on the news and from the pulpit. I will begin
    praying for the orphans in all countries “coming of age” where they are
    thrown to the enemy.

  69. Jessica B says:

    Thank you for the reminder of how blessed my family and I really
    are. I have boys ages 13, 11 and 9 and I can’t imagine them having to
    fend for themselves.

    Lord, I thank you for Tom’s heart and for this ministry that he has
    created. I lift up each member that works so tirelessly to make sure
    that no child is abandoned. Your eye is on the sparrow and how much
    more is it on each of your children? Bless the work that this team is
    doing. In Jesus name, Amen

  70. Sharon says:

    Father God,
    I lift every child up to you. I pray that you place the hedge of
    protection of them. An umbrella to cover them. you are our Savior and
    Redeemer. May your light shine in their darkness. I pray for the
    redeemers you send their way. Keep the path safe.

  71. Michelle S. says:

    Tom, thank you for your passion on protecting those who can’t
    protect themselves. I’m all too aware of the statistics on sex
    trafficking. It is so vile and disturbing. It sickens me and saddens me
    that a human being can do that to another human being – let alone a
    child and someone completely alone and helpless. It is so discouraging,
    but I am so glad to read about your organization. I know there are
    others out there, but I wasn’t familiar with yours. Thank you, Karen for
    highlighting this wonderful organization and it’s mission to help
    orphans find a way to be self-sufficient and avoid the awful world of
    sex trafficking. Seeing an end to sex trafficking and helping abused
    children everywhere (such as those used in child pornography) is
    something that I’ve been passionate about, but not sure how to go about
    helping. I’m very glad Karen featured you and your organization. I’ll be
    contacting you and visiting your website. I’ll be praying for you and
    your team and for all the children who are caught in the ugly world of
    forced prostitution.

  72. Kendra says:

    Oh my. My heart hurts at the thought of this – things too
    horrific to want to believe. God bless you Tom & your ministry, and
    God bless the children.

  73. Kathy S says:

    As a survivor of sexual abuse, my heart breaks for these children
    & women who are so trapped. I am encouraged by the organizations,
    including Children’s Hope Chest and others, that are working so hard to
    help these women and control this issue.

  74. Lisa White says:

    I so much want to squeeze my eyes shut and pretend this does not
    happen! But I know we live in a fallen world. One of my deepest fears
    since I became a parent is that one of my children would be taken. But
    those children who have been taken ARE mine in a very real,Christian,
    universal sense. I ache for each one. Thank you, Tom, for being on the
    front lines of this fight. May the rest of us not close our eyes.

  75. I’ve been reading about human trafficking for quite some time and
    think this practice is truly appalling and want to help out. We’ve
    already adopted a child through Compassion International in hopes of
    keeping her from being forced into this practice as a way of supporting
    her family but I know there is more we can do. I pray that more people
    will shine the light on this darkness that is simply pervading the
    world.

    Love and Hugs ~ Kat

  76. Mary says:

    I was so moved by this message! I want to help and will email Tom
    to find out how. Thank you for bringing this horrible situation to our
    attention!

  77. Jeannette says:

    God bless you Tom and all the work you are doing to help these
    children! My heart goes out to children as well. I am a Mom of two
    beautiful children (a boy and a girl). I know how hard it can be to be a
    girl coming up in this world and trying to raise one in today’s world.
    How awful and disturbing to hear about the evil things that people try
    to do to the world’s children!! It disturbs me, terrifies me, and angers
    me all at the same time. BUT I do know that God is in control. As
    unfair as it seems that these should be the ones to suffer, I do know
    that God loves each and everyone of them. My heart goes out to every
    child. We are the ones who mold and shape these children into what they
    become, so even with the evil that they face, there are also those of us
    who want to love them and help them. I am so thankful that God has His
    people (like you) in place to help these children. I will be praying for
    you and for your efforts. Thank you for all that you do! Love in
    Christ, Jeannette

  78. Charity says:

    This is heartbreaking information. Someone recently told me that
    there is a lot of this in the US and we just don’t realize it. I wonder
    about that as well, and how we can eliminate the problem here as well
    as around the world. Thank you for addressing this issue!

  79. Martha T. says:

    Very sobering . I am glad for those who work to make a difference for those who are so very vulnerable or trapped!

  80. Deborah says:

    I think about this situation often and pray for the lost children
    being held against their will and abused. I pray that each one of them
    will be exposed and found and helped out of their prison they are
    enslaved in. Thank you for your ministry and help. May God bless you.

  81. Beth says:

    God is ever faithful to burden someone’s heart for His children.
    Thank you, Tom, and your ministry for doing more than just see the
    problem. Thank you for putting action to your passion. I have been to
    Uganda twice and feel drawn to the women and children there.

  82. Grace; needed, given. says:

    I wonder if we could create/ utilize a system to keep track of
    these kids, give them a record. I was freaking out a couple of days
    ago, because, if one is ‘truely’ illegitimate, there is only a record of
    them and their identity in the people who know them by their first
    names. And almost nothing you could look up like a public document, I
    guess because its kind of embarassing to have an Unknown, birth
    certificate, and, going to the social secruity office can be complicated
    that way, because you have to find 2 vertified witnesses that know who
    you are.

    Maybe we can create a name, a last name, to go with their first ones,
    by which they may be known and recorded. Also, (as I have often
    thought about foster children) , maybe we can give them somone who “will
    answer their phone calls” in some way. (Based on an observation of the
    typical social work system). Also, if you have a name, there is a hope
    for you to expand your society, because particularly for boys, they can
    marry someone. It would be kind of hard to do marriage vows with ”
    ” for a last name. It would also be good, if ideally or eventually,
    the name let you be the representatives of someone cool enough.

    • Grace; needed, given. says:

      P.S. If they must have a name, tell them they can be called
      “Bonnie” (or some form of the word “Beautiful, for a last name if no one
      will give theirs. Bonnie has seen the kind of suffering you describe,
      and would not mind giving a name, hoping that they respect it, but
      understanding their situation, and perhaps being able to help them rise
      from it.

  83. Nadjejd says:

    I really enjoyed today’s devotional “I Didn’t Sign Up for This”.
    It really help me to step back & take a look at all I am blessed to
    have & to stop complaining. :)
    I also wanted to share that my church’s’ women’s ministry has started
    a mission to work with the human trafficking in our area of Richmond
    VA. It just breaks my heart to know that this is happening right in my
    backyard. I pray that the Lord would touch the heart of those who kidnap
    and place these children, men, & women in such an awful situation
    & those who have to do these acts just to survive. May God continue
    to bless your ministry! Much Love..

  84. Tom Davis says:

    I am reading all of your comments and I am OVERWHELMED by your
    love and prayers. Thanks you so much for caring about this issue and
    praying for Children’s Hopechest. Our ministry is about getting you
    involved in the areas where your heart beats the loudest. Karen, thanks
    for this blog. I’m honored.

  85. Susie Daggett says:

    Thank you for doing this to bless the girls

  86. Paula says:

    Dear Lord, please protect the children and adults who are trapped
    in the evil of slavery. Provide people to minister Your love and truth
    to each of them. May those in bondage know they are loved by a God who
    has wonderful plans and purposes for their lives. Expose the evil and
    bring it into Your light. May there be no place for the darkness to
    hide. Speak to the hearts of the perpetrators and bring them into
    relationship with You. Break the chains of bondage in the name of
    Jesus.

  87. Sharon says:

    This is a subject close to the hearts of my husband and I. His
    sister spent three years with a mission to reach girls like this. this
    past January we had the opportunity to meet some of them and prayer walk
    the streets with the team. The statistics are overwhelming but we serve
    a BIG God! “Father release the captives, hear the cries of those in
    their “nighttime”. Break our hearts with the things that break your
    heart!”
    God bless your ministry!

  88. Geralyn says:

    I pray that God blesses your ministry: that He enables you to
    shed light on this evil problem, expose the people responsible, and save
    all of the countless victims. I pray that the love of Christ enters
    into every heart so that this atrocity ends.

    Thank you for all you do in Jesus’ name.

    Geralyn

  89. Michelle Burgess says:

    I am saddened to hear your stories, facts and statistics on
    orphans and sex trafficing. I have 3 beautiful kids. As a grandmother of
    a 3 yr old boy and 3 month old baby girl I am revisiting and
    experiencing love from a whole new perspective different from how I love
    my children. it sickens me to think that anyone could not love these
    inocent lives. It has been on my heart to learn more about working with
    orphanages. I will definately be checking out the website for the
    Children’s Hope Chest. Thank you for sharing.

  90. Marilyn says:

    I just attended a human trafficking workshop in the city I live
    it. It’s so sad to know that this is happening right in my own
    backyard. I want to look for ways to help these children.

  91. kristen says:

    It baffles me that something like this can be happening and so
    many are unaware…. I was for quite some time. I would love a chance to
    win this book Thank you

  92. Kathy says:

    I am so sold on Children’s HopeChest! Thank you for all you do for
    those sweet kids in every country, but particularly in Uganda. I
    visited our CarePoint in Kaberamaido last year and I left a chunk of my
    heart there with Miria, Mary, Charity, Lazarus, Sharon, Joann, Abel…and
    so many others. You are making a difference, and inspiring others to
    make a difference!

  93. Dara says:

    I pray for Tom’s message and Children’s HopeChest. I pray it falls on many hearts to unite against this horrific crime.

  94. Alene Schlange says:

    Thank you, Tom, for this information and for Children’s HopeChest.
    I care deeply about children and have been a World Vision Child
    Sponsor for many years. I grieve for these precious young girls in such
    slavery. I pray for their freedom and an end to this.

    Thank you, Tom and Karen, for this message. I pray for the protection and freedom of these children.

  95. Mary Beth says:

    We have so much to be thankful for and so much to pray for in regard to the sweet children who are trapped in this evil.

  96. Karen Smith says:

    I was heart broken and sickened to hear about these orphans. I
    admire you for what you are doing for these girls! I was so unaware of
    this going on until recently. Dear Lord please bless this ministry and
    give them the knowledge, help and funding to continue to resuce these
    victims! Love to win your book!!

  97. Misti O. says:

    I will add Tom & his team to my prayer list. Thanks, Karen for the suggestion to use “Freedom” as a prayer trigger.

  98. Michelle says:

    I am always heartbroken when I hear stories like this – I work
    with individuals with intellectual disabilities and it is so sad to see
    what happens to these individuals when they are taken advantage of – and
    sometimes it is their own family. We certainly work with our staff
    that all of God’s creatures deserve to have equal access to the
    community and be free from abuse, neglect and exploitation. As a mother
    of a young daughter, how important it is to teach her about respect for
    her own body and the impact of how we treat others – thank you for what
    you do.

  99. Joanna Branson says:

    This is an issue that has been lain on my heart in the past few
    months as I watch my own beautiful little girl approaching her teen
    years far too fast. She is studying karate because she knows the
    importance of self-defense skills in our society. But what of the
    children who don’t have such resources. I am moved to follow through in
    some way. I will be looking into Children’s Hope Chest and similar
    ministries to figure out how best to help. Thank you, Karen and Tom, for
    all you do to raise awareness about this topic and to secure a way out
    for so many children.
    ~Joanna

  100. Anna says:

    This is something that you know goes on, but it’s always so far
    away that you sometimes even forget it exists. So heart-wrenchingly sad.
    Can’t wrap my mind around it. How can people be so cruel and heartless?
    Just another story that proves how sin destroys even the smallest hint
    of good in people….Oh Lord, help us, Your children to remember these
    precious souls that are in need, in need of Your love, Your touch, Your
    healing, Your arms, Your protection, in need of YOU. May we truly be YOU
    to those that so desperately need all that you can give them in their
    lives…..

  101. Valerie Hohenberger says:

    would love to read this book, although, I’m sure it will be
    through tears! These stories break my heart! Overwhelming statistics!

  102. This is sad. I am so thankful for organizations that work to end such things. Many prayers for all involved.

  103. Ann : ) says:

    What horrors are in this world. Immediately thought of my
    daughter and granddaughters. Our church library would be a good home
    for one of these.

  104. Barbara wiggers says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Stories like these make me feel stirred
    and are very emotional. It feels good to know i still have Gods
    compassion. I would love to help and probably do something through my
    brothers church who support a group in this area. Also i am reminded of
    my first heart and desire to work with orphans. This heart came from two
    verses in the bible re helping the widowed and orphaned. I then started
    out qualifying in child care and now am full time mum to four children.
    So here’s looking forward to the plans if has for me despite my
    circumstances.
    I pray every blessing on you and the work you are doing. I am sure i have seen your book somewhere and would love to read it.
    Babs.

  105. Erika says:

    The topic of your book really touched a chord with me. I just
    finished reading a book by David Baldacci, called, “The Innocent.” The
    story revolves around human trafficking for prostitution, labor, and
    even the taking of young siblings, to pose as families for easier air
    travel for members of terrorist groups. To read a work of supposed
    fiction and feel affected by it and then literally a few days later see
    your book summary and learn the validity behind it is overwhelming. I
    hope to read your book soon, and dig deeper into this growing epidemic.
    God bless you and all the lives you seek to help.

  106. I appreciate your blog so much! Me and my BFF are creating a not
    for profit that will raise funds to start aftercare facilities for those
    rescued. Thank you for bringing awareness to this important issue. I
    love what Tom said- WE are the answer!!

  107. Bobbi says:

    My hearts break for these victims. My youngest daughter is a gift
    to us from God and our little ‘China doll’. We adopted her when she
    was only 9 months old. I am so grateful to have her as a part of our
    family. It makes me think of all the children that are without families
    and can so easily become sex trafficking victims. Thank you for helping
    to bring this subject to light for many who are unaware that it even
    exists.

  108. Heartbreaking to think of what
    these poor orphans go through. I’ll share this on all my SoMe sites
    and will copy to my blog – Karen, will give you credit, of course. Tom,
    I’ll go to your website as well. I can only imagine the horror these
    children face. So very sad.

Speak Your Mind

Name *

Website

Leave a Reply

